Saturday, July 26, 2008

Cinderella - Long Cold Winter [1988]

Cinderella - Long Cold Winter [1988]
mp3 - 62mb

Cinderella's second studio album, released in 1988 through Mercury Records. It reached #10 in the US, which was initially a minor disappointment compared to Night Songs' at #3, though it did go double-platinum for selling 2 million copies in the US by the end of the year, just as Night Songs had done. It soon became apparent that the band's stardom hadn't faded the least with both albums going triple platinum in the 1990s.

The album featurs four singles, which were all hits in the US. "Don't Know What You Got (Till It's Gone)", which was to be Cinderella's highest-charting single, reached #12, "The Last Mile", reached #36, "Coming Home" reached #20, and the classic "Gypsy Road" hit #51 a full year after the release of the album itself.

With Long Cold Winter, Cinderella started to move away from the glam metal-territory of their previous album and into a more blues-rock direction, akin to early 70's Rolling Stones, Humble Pie and Deep Purple. Still retaining elements of their Def Leppard-like past, the album is widely seen as the representative sound of Cinderella, bridging a gap between their pop-metal beginnings to that of their later styles, represented by their following album, Heartbreak Station.

Track listing

All songs are written by Tom Keifer, except for "If You Don't Like It", which was split between him and Eric Brittingham.

  1. "Bad Seamstress Blues/Fallin' Apart at the Seams" - 5:19
  2. "Gypsy Road" - 3:55
  3. "Don't Know What You Got (Till It's Gone)" - 5:54
  4. "The Last Mile" - 3:51
  5. "Second Wind" - 3:59
  6. "Long Cold Winter" - 5:24
  7. "If You Don't Like It" - 4:10
  8. "Coming Home" - 4:56
  9. "Fire and Ice" - 3:22
  10. "Take Me Back" - 3:17

No comments: